skip navigation

Icepack Women Hoist Cup!

03/21/2022, 4:45pm EDT
By Don Haas

Senior Captain Emily Petersen Earns Tourney MVP

Winston-Salem, NC: The NC State University women’s ice hockey club defeated the West Virginia University women’s club by a score of 6-4 to secure the title in the ACCHL D2 Women’s Club Championship.

NC State would jump out to the lead with 12:04 remaining in the first on a goal by Avery Dipasquale, with an assist from Logan Vtipil. It would be Vtipil getting the second goal with 5:50 remaining in the period, with an assist from Emily Petersen. The Lady Mountaineer’s would get on the board with 3:00 remaining with a goal from Abigail McGovern, with help coming from Allyson Schwind.  NCSU would take a 2-1 lead into the break.

Emily Petersen would extend the lead for the Icepack with 17:39 remaining. Petersen would also score the next two goals of the period with 13:54 and 11:15 remaining. Avery Dipasquale would get the assist on the second Petersen goal. WVU would get on the board again with 2:45 remaining with a Samantha Miller goal and an Allyson Schwind assist. The second period would end with NCSU leading 5-2.

Emily Petersen would get her fourth goal of the game, and her sixth goal of the tournament with 13:24 remaining. Danielle Aiello would get the assist. While the Mountaineer’s would continue to fire shots on goal, they would get just two more goals in the game. With 6:36 left, Jessica Leonard would score with an assist coming from Sonia Chandi. Julianna Baibos would complete the WVU scoring with 1:37 remaining with help coming from Sam Miller.

Veronica Heyl would take the victory, making 73 saves on 77 shots. Willow Herman would take the loss making 18 saves on 24 shots.

Tag(s): Home