skip navigation

NC State Wins Annual Governor's Cup

11/22/2018, 1:00pm EST
By Sheriff

Wolfpack First ACC Team to Earn Playoff Berth

NC State hockey has been on a roll this season, led by senior Captains Sam Banasiewicz (Public Relations) and Ryan Kinney (Mechanical Engineering).  Together with senior Ellis Rushford (Nutrition Science), Tyler Alfonzetti (Engineering), Joey Hall (Business), Jess Tart (Mechanical Engineering), and Josh Cannon (Aerospace Engineering), the Wolfpack have earned a 14-0 overall record (6-0 ACC League) as the first semester comes to a close.  For their efforts, the team has been rewarded with an ACHA Southeastern #3 ranking (an ACC Hockey League Record).  On Monday, they extended their unbeaten streak by outskating their ACC Divisonal rival 7-1 in the Annual NC Governor's Cup.  The game was held in the Carolina Hurricanes PNC Arena in front of a crowd of more than 4,000.  NC State is lead by Head Coach Mike Gazillo (retired NYPD and NYFD) who has been behind the bench since 2010.  Congratulations to Wolfpack Ice Hockey and all the best for continued success after the holidays!  

Tag(s): Home