skip navigation

ACC Hockey Team in the Spotlight

01/15/2018, 6:15pm EST
By Sheriff

Georgetown University

Georgetown University hockey has a rich and storied history long before the creation of formal organized club hockey and the formation of the ACHA in 1991.  The Hoyas have been competing in the sport of ice hockey for more than 75 years.  As a result, Georgetown Hockey enjoys strong support from an extremely engaged alumni organization and strong support from the university.  The Hoya Annual Alumni Game/Weekend has been among the best attended in the country.

Georgetown University has been one of the most dominating teams in the ACC Hockey League since becoming a member in 2003.  In the Hoyas 15 year history with the League, the Hoyas have won the ACC Season Title twice while winning a League record six (6) ACC Championships, including the League’s only three-pete champions, 2012-2014.  Georgetown also finished in the top four in the final League standings from 2004-2015.

Drawing their talent predominantly from New England, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, Georgetown also has a League record 11 ACC Hockey Hall of Famers (2 Goalies, 8 Skaters, and 1 Coach).  Both Goalies, Greg Graham (2006-2010) and Connor Brogan (2011-2014) were in net for multiple Georgetown Championships (they contributed to five of the six Hoya Championships), and earned Tournament MVP recognition.  Stand out forwards such as Luke Holden (2003-2007), Conor Hickton (2004-2008), Dave Glynn (2005-2009), John Ryder (2009-2013), and Alex Yale-Loehr (2008-2012) all found the back of the net to earn Tournament MVP’s.  Finally, the Walsh brothers (Defenseman Charlie, 2004-2008 and Center Danny 2011-2015) were locker room leaders on five championship teams.

Coaches John Kokidko (2001-2012) and Brad Card led the Hoyas during the incredible decade of dominance in the ACCHL.

Georgetown hockey has been a dominate force in ACC Hockey and will continue to be part of league tradition, lore, and history for many years to come.

Tag(s): Home